Songwriters at Play

18 Apr

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Before heading to pint night at SLO Brew for a typical Tuesday night, come experience some great local and travelling talent. Every Tuesday, Kreuzberg hosts Songwriters at Play from 6:30 to 9, where all different types of performers get a chance to play and experiment with their sound.

This is different than your typical open mic night. It is a showcase with a specially selected group of people, eliminating the “grab bag” effect you get with most open mics.

“There’s an energy that makes people want to hang out. I never have trouble finding people to play here.”

Steve Key, the head of this event, has been hosting these events at Kreuzberg for a year now, and has hosted “showcases” all over the county since 2007. As a professional musician for 35 years, he wants to help local artists through the transition and struggle they face finding a following. “This event offers a little more than an open mic. I help them gain an audience and publicity they would not otherwise have. Sure I could make more money doing wineries myself, but I like the surprises you get here.”

What is so special about the Kreuzberg event is “the vibe. There’s an energy that makes people want to hang out. I never have trouble finding people to play here.” Steve says Tuesday is the best because you can get some amazing artists that are just travelling through. “As a travelling musician, I know how hard it is to get weekday shows. Instead of just sitting in their motels they get a chance to come out and play. Even artists who have moved on to ticketed shows.”

When asked how he seems to find so many people to play his shows he says, “I’m just lucky I guess.”

On Tuesday, two singer songwriters from Alberta, Canada stopped by to show off their talent. Tatam Reeves and Cadence Burns started their trip for Coachella, and are staying a couple weeks to explore Los Angeles. Tatum has been to San Luis Obispo before, and loves the scene so much he made a point to add it into their trip. Tatum says,

“Cadence was who got me my first open mic night. I wanted to show her one of my favorite towns.”

Tatam loves San Luis Obispo for “the cozy, happy atmosphere. Plus everyone is so friendly!” He has worked with Steve before, so whenever he is in town he makes sure to play a couple shows. He makes it look so easy as he plucks away at the guitar with speed and grace, playing soft folksy tunes.

Cadence loves travelling because of all the people you meet. “There are so many different sounds out there and different kinds of people. It’s an amazing experience.”  She played very melodic rhythms and her soft sultry vocals were entrancing, making you softly move side to side.

Cadence and Tatam both have websites with soundclouds, showcasing their seemingly effortless talent.

“The more fans, the more inspiration I get to write.”

The local talent is in force as well. Katie Edmiston, a Communication Studies major at Cal Poly, has played at Songwriters at Play several times. She found Steve by web searching “open mics in SLO,” and she says “I feel like a really tiny fish, even though SLO is a small pond. Steve really helps me find my way in the music scene.”

What she loves most is “having a following. It is great to find an experience like this. The more fans, the more inspiration I get to write.” Kreuzberg is her favorite event because of the atmosphere. “It’s so artistic and interesting. Plus I love the tea.” She loves to drink the Macadamia Nut Rooibos tea before she goes on to get relaxed and ready.

Here is a video of her playing one of her songs. Click here for more of her work.

7 Responses to “Songwriters at Play”

  1. JoeJoe Corral April 18, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    way to do a sound interview! for the pull quote though i think it helps to include who said it.

  2. ehusting April 18, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

    You did a great job with this post. I love the layout of the article: the picture slideshow first, pull quotes, sound bits and then a YouTube cover. I can tell that you did your research, and it was a very interesting topic. Make sure to delete a couple of signs that are in your post. Great blog!

  3. stangball April 18, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

    I like the pull quotes. Be careful with putting in your own code though, you left a few ‘s in the post which distracts me as a reader.

  4. Rachel April 18, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

    I really like how you broke up your post with bullet points, audio, and a YouTube video. It made your post very readable and also provided a lot of information.

  5. Kelly Trom April 18, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

    I love all the media you used in this post! It was great that you were able to tell the story through audio, slideshows, and video. The one thing I would change is to just improve the layout so it looks a little bit more organized, but I know how hard this is to do using wordpress!

  6. CoachesCornerSLO April 18, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

    I really enjoyed learning about these cool artists! I think it was smart to place the slideshow in the first part of the story. Then, the multimedia was an awesome addition! Great job!

  7. dormlife101 April 18, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

    I LOVE how much this one blog had to offer. The layout and the theme are great, and the stories are engaging. I feel like you can get a lot of readers if you continue to add as many video and other media clips.

Leave a Reply

