Aside

Female Seeking Muse

1 Apr

Hello and welcome to my blog!  My name is Kelley, and I am writing this blog for a journalism class at Cal Poly.

I am still very undecided as to themes and structures for my blog, so I have done some research on a previous class to find my purpose in the vast blogosphere:

Coffee grounds in SLO

1. My first impression of this blog is that it is devoted to reporting on all the coffee shops in the area, and probably critiquing the coffee.

The all about espresso throws me off because not all coffee is espresso, and it makes me wonder if it will show how beans are roasted in the area and other behind the scenes type of work.

2. I think this blog takes on more of a critic feel, even though she never gives her own opinion, I think it would have made it more solid if there was a rating system. The titles need something like best homework spot, or best homebrewed beans, because instead it is just lists of what each coffee shop is like.

I feel I could find out most of this information by just visiting them. There is nothing specifically newsworthy about the topics. I wish it had been more focused on how they started; the stories behind each of the smaller coffee shops.

3. The design is a very simple one. I would have liked a little more coffee related content, maybe some rich brown colors.

It is well spaced, and I like the headers within the blog itself.

The photos were very nice, and I liked how she spread them out in each blog post.

4. I really liked the theme of this blog. It was something I would really want to read as an avid coffee drinker and an ADD student always in search for the next homework niche.

I really think more about the coffee shops would be helpful, not simply about their food and drinks.

I did really like the article on fair trade. I thought it was thought provoking and showed a new side to fair trade. It is now pretty common to have fair trade coffee, but to go into the details of the plantations was good journalism.

5. I liked her page about coffee lingo. It was helpful, especially for a topic with plenty of jargon. This would do well in a sports blog, or anything that has cultural vernacular.

Well That Was Awkward

1. I was very intrigued by this blog, especially in terms of how it would transform into an actual news blog. I liked the idea for it, but it seemed lacking momentum.

2. I do not think that many of the stories were newsworthy, however she did try to have a journalist’s approach to each story.

3. The design was very basic, but I liked the bold title header. I did not like her obviously faked pictures for the awkward first date or her friends doing poses in the dorm. It lacked professionalism. The quotes were very clearly set apart and stood out with the turquoise line and white background.

4. The breast pumping post was way out of left field for the blog. It felt like it was all about her friends and texts, things applied to our demographic, and then there would be random posts like this. I think she took the word awkward too leniently, and had no direction to her work. It was a blog that I could see people following, but there was not a lot of substance.

5. I liked the focus on one word and how she tried to build stories from that. The use of maps was helpful when pointing to a specific place. It adds another dimension to the blog. I think I enjoyed the humor she attempted to bring to the blog. It makes you want to keep reading, but it needs to be executed a little better.

Lashes and Leotards

1. I was actually not attracted to this blog at first because it seemed to fit a narrow niche that did not interest me. However, the blog fit the theme so perfectly, with the color and the head banner, that I felt I had to read at least a little.

2. This site is a journalism site because it tells the stories of Cal Poly dancers from different angles. It explains what goes into a rehearsal, as well as some fun little tips on the ballerina bun. She did an excellent job of catching “experts” (Cal Poly dancers) on film and in writing. Their personalities and stories were well told.

3. I loved her step-by-step tutorials. I feel it could have used a few more pictures of the dancers themselves, but she had some great videos and pictures of the small items like the health foods and stretching.

4. The content was well written. I liked the way she pulled out the quotes with purple.

5. I loved the organization at the top of the page. It was well thought out and had a lot of content separated into easy to digest sections. I also loved how she covered the scope of a narrow theme. The big production for the quarter was represented, as well as some good tips for her fellow dancers. I also really liked the interview videos as well, and will make sure to do some personal stories in my blog.

Politico.com

1. The first impression of this blog is very professional. The color scheme is strictly red, white and blue. It is evident this blog is here to give news specifically catered to politics.

2. This is definitely a journalism website. Each story is headlined below a highlight picture. The samples I read follow the inverted pyramid style, and there is a specific topic for each of the headlines.

3. This blog’s visual fits the theme. The people who want to read this material are generally not looking for anything flashy. I think it fits its demographic well. I like the poll on the side and the video content. It does not command your attention, but breaks up the text.

4. The content is a little dense. It would be nice if there were more ways to break it up. The topic is dense, but I think they could do a better job in the banner.

5. My topic is not very similar to this blog but I do like having the polls on the side if that is possible. I would also like an organized banner bar and a search engine.

Mashable.com

1. I was confused by this blog. It is owned by Conan (?) and covers everything?? I could not figure out its purpose.

2. This does have newsworthy stories, but I am lost in its purpose. I think it is just a news blog about everything from entertainment to business, but I am confused as a first time user.

3. It is all over the map visually. I like the amount of photos, but I do not think things are visually organized.

4. The content is all over the map. I wish there was more of a focus. I would rather read something that specifically focused on technology, or entertainment. I like to have an expert in a field, instead of just all around information. It is similar to a newspaper, but not set up correctly.

5. I like the use of videos for Conan. They add a funny touch. I do not think there is much I can use for my own blog. The pictures are quality.

Leave a Reply

